Seven Chakras by Mukti Singh Thapa


This captivating painting by master artist Mukti Singh Thapa is named Seven Chakras, after the seven energy centers in the human body. Chakras is an ancient concept and the word is derived from Sanskrit meaning ‘wheel.’ The chakras are aligned along the spine, starting from the base and moving all the way up to the top of your head. The background of fragmented colors depicts emptiness. This very unique piece displays Thapa's creativity in translating traditional subjects into modern style.

This original thangka, or paubha in Nepal, is painted in the traditional manner with ground mineral pigments on primed cotton canvas. For example, the blues are painted with lapis lazuli and the greens are composed of malachite. The gold ornaments, such as the crown and jewelry, are painted painstakingly with 24 carat gold. A painting of this size will take several months to compose, sketch and complete.

The original piece is no longer available. However, Mahakala Fine Arts has produced a Collector's Edition fine art print so that you can enjoy this museum quality work of art. This piece is limited to 100 prints and can only be found at Mahakala Fine Arts. It is printed on thick archival paper in the same professional quality used by top museums worldwide and looks remarkably similar to the original.

With your 68 cm (27 inch) fine art print you will receive an authentication card, numbered and signed by the artist in English and Nepali script, as well as an artist biography.

Mahakala Fine Arts donates a portion of all print sales to social programs in the Himalaya. Please join us!

If you have any questions or comments, please email

Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews Write a review

Next Previous

Related Items